Queen Goneril

25 August - 2 October 2022
Set seven years before King Lear, Queen Goneril finds Lear's three daughters trying to find their voices while fighting a patriarchal system at odds with their aspirations. In Goneril we find a natural born leader. In Regan a boundary pusher, and in Cordelia a reluctant peacekeeper. How can they find their voices when no one is listening? Buy a ticket to Queen Goneril and get 50% off King Lear & vice versa

Playwright:

Erin Shields

Director:

Weyni Mengesha

Cast

  • Virgilia Griffith
  • Tom McCamus
  • Vanessa Sears
  • Helen Belay
  • Oliver Dennis
  • Damien Atkins
  • Sheldon Elter
  • Breton Lalama
  • Nancy Palk
  • Jordan Pettle
  • Philip Riccio
  • Jonathon Young

Design team

  • Ken MacKenzie - Set Designer
  • Judith Bowden - Costume Designer
  • Kimberly Purtell - Lighting Designer
  • Thomas Ryder Payne - Sound Designer
  • John Stead - Fight Director
  • Guillermo Verdecchia - Dramaturg
  • Catie Graham - Assistant Dramaturg
  • Robert Harding - Stage Manager
  • Kat Chin - Assistant Stage Manager
  • Kara Pankiw - Lighting Design Mentee
  • Farnoosh Talebpour - Assistant Stage Manager
  • Sim Suzer - Assistant Costume Designer
  • Kelly McEvenue - Alexander Coach
  • Kara Wooten - Assistant Fight Director

Trailer

https://youtu.be/P9fwlmHbPn4

Production Photos

Share:

Upcoming Performances

  • Thursday, 25 August 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 26 August 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 3 September 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, 6 September 7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 7 September 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 9 September 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 9 September 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 10 September 1:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 14 September 1:30 pm
  • Thursday, 15 September 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 17 September 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, 18 September 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, 20 September 7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 21 September 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 23 September 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 24 September 1:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 28 September 1:30 pm
  • Thursday, 29 September 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 1 October 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, 2 October 1:30 pm

Ticket Cost

$
$$
$$$
$$$$
*Student/Senior/Artsworker discounted tickets offered

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Gender-neutral washrooms

Venue

50 Tank House Lane

50 Tank House Lane, Toronto, ON, Canada

View on map →

Warnings / Triggers

-Loud noises (gunshots, thunder) -Scene dealing with themes of sexual assault -Bright flashes from time to time

Genres:

Drama, Contemporary, Classical, Epic Theatre

Theatre Company