Maanomaa, My Brother

11 April - 30 April 2023
When childhood friends Kwame and Will reunite in Ghana for the funeral of a loved one, they realize just how much has changed since the events that separated them 25 years earlier. As they struggle with the urge to keep stories from the past buried and the desire to connect, resurfaced memories set them on a journey to discover a truth that neither of them expected. Blending together styles of West African and Canadian Theatre, Maanomaa mixes myth with reality, and the past with the present.

Playwright:

Tawiah M'Carthy and Brad Cook with Anne-Marie Donovan

Director:

Philip Akin

Cast

  • Tawiah M'Carthy
  • Brad Cook

Design team

  • Natasha Mumba - Dramaturge
  • Wole Oguntokun - Cultural Consultant
  • Aldrin Bundoc - Assistant Director
  • Alice Ferreya - Stage Manager
  • Joanna Yu - Set & Costume Designer
  • Andre du Toit - Lighting Designer
  • Chris-Liz - Sound Designer
  • Kobeena Acquaa-Harrison - Composer
Share:

Upcoming Performances

  • Tuesday, 11 April 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, 12 April 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, 13 April 8:00 pm
  • Friday, 14 April 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, 15 April 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, 15 April 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, 16 April 2:00 pm
  • Tuesday, 18 April 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, 19 April 1:00 pm
  • Wednesday, 19 April 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, 20 April 8:00 pm
  • Friday, 21 April 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, 22 April 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, 22 April 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, 23 April 2:00 pm
  • Tuesday, 25 April 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, 26 April 1:00 pm
  • Wednesday, 26 April 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, 27 April 8:00 pm
  • Friday, 28 April 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, 29 April 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, 29 April 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, 30 April 2:00 pm

Ticket Cost

$
$$
$$$
$$$$
*Student/Senior/Artsworker discounted tickets offered

Accessibility

  • Gender-neutral washrooms

Venue

Berkeley Street Theatre

26 Berkeley Street, Toronto, ON M5A 2W3, Canada

View on map →

Genres:

Drama

Theatre Company

In Partnership: