English

9 February - 5 March 2023
English Only! That is the class rule in Iran as four adult students prepare for the language exam that will unlock their futures. As the class devolves into a linguistic mess, the students navigate a maze of prepositions and word games, while questioning how they can be funny in another language. Mastery of the English language promises to make them whole – but it might be splitting them in half. A heartfelt and humorous look at what gets lost in translation.

Playwright:

Sanaz Toossi

Director:

Anahita Dehbonehie & Guillermo Verdecchia

Cast

  • Ghazal Partou
  • Aylin Oyan Salahshoor
  • Sepehr Reybod
  • Ghazal Azarbad
  • Banafsheh Taherian

Design team

  • Anahita Dehbonehie - Set Designer
  • Niloufar Ziaee - Costume Designer
  • Tim Rodrigues - Lighting Designer
  • Rob Denton - Sound Designer
  • Aurora Torok - Associate Lighting Designer

Production Photos

Share:

Upcoming Performances

  • Thursday, 9 February 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 10 February 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 11 February 7:30 pm
  • Tuesday, 14 February 7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 15 February 7:30 pm
  • Thursday, 16 February 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 17 February 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 18 February 1:30 pm
  • Saturday, 18 February 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, 19 February 7:30 pm
  • Tuesday, 21 February 7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 22 February 1:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 22 February 7:30 pm
  • Thursday, 23 February 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 24 February 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 25 February 1:30 pm
  • Saturday, 25 February 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, 26 February 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, 28 February 7:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 1 March 1:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 1 March 7:30 pm
  • Thursday, 2 March 7:30 pm
  • Friday, 3 March 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 4 March 1:30 pm
  • Saturday, 4 March 7:30 pm
  • Saturday, 4 March 7:30 pm
  • Sunday, 5 March 1:30 pm

Ticket Cost

$
$$
$$$
$$$$
*Student/Senior/Artsworker discounted tickets offered

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Relaxed performances
  • Gender-neutral washrooms
  • Elevator onsite

Venue

50 Tank House Lane

50 Tank House Lane, Toronto, ON, Canada

View on map →

Genres:

Comedy, Contemporary, Drama

Theatre Company